Home: Tournaments: 2023/2024: What's new | Live | Results | Upcoming | Finals | Calendar | Main Tour players | All players | Match stats

Embassy World Championship

Tour: Main Tour; Date: 15 Apr - 1 May 1989; Venue: Crucible Theatre, Sheffield, England; Type: Ranking; Defending champion: Steve Davis (a); Notes: See also results (31)
England Steve Davis (a) 18-3 England John Parrott (a) Head to head
It was a third consecutive World Snooker Championship win for Davis and his sixth title. The match ended with a session to spare.

Session 1:
86-20, 65-28 (51), 20-90, 66-5, 109-16, 78-11 (61), 43-72

Session 2:
100-6, 72-9 (55), 113-0 (112), 71-0, 74-58 (60; 52), 88-23 (59), 32-68 (68), 116-0 (80), 68-1 (68)

Session 3:
62-47, 56-44, 71-31 (59), 68-6, 70-40

Referee: John Street

England Steve Davis (a) 16-9 Scotland Stephen Hendry Head to head
England John Parrott (a) 16-7 England Tony Meo (a) Head to head
England Steve Davis (a) 13-3 England Mike Hallett (a) Head to head
Scotland Stephen Hendry 13-5 Wales Terry Griffiths (a) Head to head
England John Parrott (a) 13-7 England Jimmy White Head to head
England Tony Meo (a) 13-9 England Dean Reynolds (a) Head to head
Round 2
(Last 16)
1 England Steve Davis (a) 13-3 England Steve Duggan (a)  
2 England Mike Hallett (a) 13-12 England David Roe (a)  
3 Scotland Stephen Hendry 13-10 England Willie Thorne (a) Head to head
4 Wales Terry Griffiths (a) 13-9 South Africa Silvino Francisco (a) Head to head
5 England Jimmy White 13-12 England John Virgo (a) Head to head
6 England John Parrott (a) 13-10 Northern Ireland Dennis Taylor (a) Head to head
7 England Dean Reynolds (a) 13-3 Wales Wayne Jones (a) Head to head
8 England Tony Meo (a) 13-8 Australia Eddie Charlton (a) Head to head
Round 1
(Last 32)
1 England Steve Davis (a) 10-5 Wales Steve Newbury (a)  
2 England Steve Duggan (a) 10-1 Wales Cliff Wilson (a)  
For the seventh time, Wilson failed to win a match at the Crucible.
3 England David Roe (a) 10-6 England Tony Knowles (a)  
4 England Mike Hallett (a) 10-7 Wales Doug Mountjoy (a) Head to head
5 Scotland Stephen Hendry 10-9 England Gary Wilkinson (a) Head to head
6 England Willie Thorne (a) 10-5 Ireland Paddy Browne (a)  
7 Wales Terry Griffiths (a) 10-6 Canada Bob Chaperon (a) Head to head
8 South Africa Silvino Francisco (a) 10-6 Ireland Joe O'Boye (a)  
9 England Jimmy White 10-7 New Zealand Dene O'Kane (a) Head to head
10 England John Virgo (a) 10-4 Wales Darren Morgan (a)  
Virgo progressed to the second round for the first time since 1982.
11 England John Parrott (a) 10-9 England Steve James (a)  
Parrott, from Liverpool, wore a black armband during the match in recognition of the Hillsborough disaster that had happened on 15 April at the FA Cup semi-final between Nottingham Forest and Liverpool.
12 Northern Ireland Dennis Taylor (a) 10-3 Ireland Eugene Hughes (a)  
13 Wales Wayne Jones (a) 10-9 England Neal Foulds (a) Head to head
14 England Dean Reynolds (a) 10-7 South Africa Peter Francisco (a) Head to head
15 Australia Eddie Charlton (a) 10-9 Canada Cliff Thorburn (a) Head to head
Charlton, aged 59 years and 169 days, became the second-oldest player to win a match at the World Championship, after Fred Davis in 1979.
Match finished at 2:39 am, which was the second-latest finish time for a match at the Crucible.
16 England Tony Meo (a) 10-5 England Joe Johnson (a)