Home: Tournaments: 2023/2024: What's new | Live | Results | Upcoming | Finals | Calendar | Main Tour players | All players | Match stats

Embassy World Championship

Tour: Main Tour; Date: 21 Apr - 7 May 1984; Venue: Crucible Theatre, Sheffield, England; Type: Ranking; Defending champion: Steve Davis (a); Notes: See also results (31)
England Steve Davis (a) 18-16 England Jimmy White Head to head
The victory was Davis' third world championship, having previously won in 1981 and 1983. White's loss was the first of six world championship final defeats. He was the youngest player to compete in a world championship final; however, by losing the match he missed his chance to supersede Alex Higgins as the youngest-ever winner.
White came back from 12-4.

73-14; 84-24 (50); 70-65; 51-73; 69-39; 110-15 (62); 77-38 (51); 68-25; 81-0; 0-137 (61,76); 57-40; 8-104 (61); 120-5 (84); 43-67; 65-61; 73-22; 6-127 (119); 29-62; 1-76; 68-56 (51); 42-65; 29-68; 4-80; 43-67; 64-15; 82-43 (63); 19-91; 73-40; 6-84 (64); 22-72 (72); 40-74 (53); 59-55; 60-65 (51, 65); 77-40

Referee: Jim Thorpe

England Steve Davis (a) 16-9 Northern Ireland Dennis Taylor (a) Head to head
England Jimmy White 16-14 Canada Kirk Stevens (a) Head to head
England Steve Davis (a) 13-10 Wales Terry Griffiths (a) Head to head
Northern Ireland Dennis Taylor (a) 13-8 Wales Doug Mountjoy (a) Head to head
England Jimmy White 13-8 Canada Cliff Thorburn (a) Head to head
Canada Kirk Stevens (a) 13-2 Wales Ray Reardon (a) Head to head
Stevens won with a session to spare.
Round 2
(Last 16)
1 England Steve Davis (a) 13-5 England John Spencer (a)  
2 Wales Terry Griffiths (a) 13-5 Canada Bill Werbeniuk (a) Head to head
3 Wales Doug Mountjoy (a) 13-6 England Neal Foulds (a) Head to head
4 Northern Ireland Dennis Taylor (a) 13-11 England John Parrott (a) Head to head
5 Canada Cliff Thorburn (a) 13-11 England Willie Thorne (a) Head to head
6 England Jimmy White 13-7 Australia Eddie Charlton (a) Head to head
7 Canada Kirk Stevens (a) 13-10 England David Taylor (a) Head to head
8 Wales Ray Reardon (a) 13-8 South Africa Silvino Francisco (a) Head to head
At 8-8, Reardon won the frame on a re-spotted black after having needed snooker.
Round 1
(Last 32)
1 England Steve Davis (a) 10-3 Australia Warren King (a) Head to head
King's 1st time at the Crucible
2 England John Spencer (a) 10-3 England Graham Miles (a) Head to head
3 Wales Terry Griffiths (a) 10-2 Malta Paul Mifsud (a)  
Mifsud's 1st time at the Crucible
4 Canada Bill Werbeniuk (a) 10-4 England Fred Davis (a)  
Eight-time champion Fred Davis made his last appearance at the World Championships. He had first played in the World Championship in 1937. Aged 70 years and 253 days, he became the tournament's oldest-ever player.
5 England Neal Foulds (a) 10-9 Northern Ireland Alex Higgins (a)  
Foulds' 1st time at the Crucible
6 Wales Doug Mountjoy (a) 10-4 England Mike Hallett (a) Head to head
7 Northern Ireland Dennis Taylor (a) 10-1 England Joe Johnson (a) Head to head
Johnson's 1st time at the Crucible
8 England John Parrott (a) 10-7 England Tony Knowles (a) Head to head
Parrott's 1st time at the Crucible. He progressed through qualifying after winning three rounds, beating Dennis Hughes 10´┐Ż3, Clive Everton 10´┐Ż2 and the 1978 World Snooker Championship runner-up Perrie Mans 10´┐Ż0.
9 Canada Cliff Thorburn (a) 10-3 Canada Mario Morra (a)  
Morra's 1st time at the Crucible
10 England Willie Thorne (a) 10-9 England John Virgo (a) Head to head
11 England Jimmy White 10-6 England Rex Williams (a)  
Williams' 138 in frame 12 was the highest break of the tournament.
12 Australia Eddie Charlton (a) 10-4 Wales Roy Andrewartha (a)  
Andrewartha's 1st time at the Crucible
13 Canada Kirk Stevens (a) 10-1 Scotland Eddie Sinclair (a)  
Sinclair's 1st time at the Crucible
14 England David Taylor (a) 10-5 Canada Marcel Gauvreau (a)  
15 South Africa Silvino Francisco (a) 10-5 England Tony Meo (a)  
16 Wales Ray Reardon (a) 10-7 Canada Jim Wych (a)