Tournaments: 1996/97: Ranking: Asian | Grand Prix | UK | German | Welsh | International | European | Thailand | British | World

International Open 1997

Aberdeen Exhibition & Conference Centre, Scotland (Feb 13-22, 1997)
Ranking tournament (No.6 of 10)

[ Report | Pictures | Results | Related Pages ]


Stephen Hendry won a record-equalling 28th ranking title by beating Tony Drago 9-1. He and Steve Davis now have the same number of wins. This was Hendry's 63rd career major title, just eight shy of Davis' record 71. It was also his third ranking title of the season. It was only his second International Open win though. His previous title came in the 1992/93 season. He pocketed £60,000 for the victory. Ronnie O'Sullivan got the high break prize with a 142.

The match was over after less than two hours as Drago only managed to win one frame in the final - the second. He must be pleased with his work this week though. Before this tournament he had never passed the quarter-final stage of any ranking event. This effort took him to ninth spot in the provisional rankings which Hendry still dominates.


Eric Whitehead)


(Players are English unless stated)


Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 9-1 Tony Drago (Malta)

90-31, 23-69, 128-6 (128), 72-59, 69-55, 69-14, 71-23, 78-7, 116-0, 91-29


Tony Drago (Malta)        6-5 John Higgins (Scotland)
Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 6-3 Peter Ebdon


John Higgins (Scotland)   5-3 Alan McManus (Scotland)
Tony Drago (Malta)        5-3 John Parrott            
Peter Ebdon               5-1 Ronnie O'Sullivan
Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 5-2 Jimmy White               

Third round

John Higgins (Scotland)   5-1 Paul Wykes                
Alan McManus (Scotland)   5-1 Stuart Parnell
Tony Drago (Malta)        5-3 Joe Swail (N.Ireland)
John Parrott              5-2 Dave Harold
Peter Ebdon               5-4 Mark J Williams (Wales)
Ronnie O'Sullivan         5-2 Dene O'Kane (New Zealand)
Jimmy White               5-3 Nigel Bond
Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 5-2 Chris Small (Scotland)

Second round

John Higgins (Scotland)   5-1 Dennis Taylor (N.Ireland)      
Paul Wykes                5-1 Bradley Jones
Stuart Parnell            5-1 Adrian Rosa               
Alan McManus (Scotland)   5-4 Stephen Lee               
Joe Swail (N.Ireland)     5-3 Ken Doherty (Ireland)     
Tony Drago (Malta)        5-4 Shokat Ali (Pakistan)     
Dave Harold               5-0 Steve James               
John Parrott              5-2 Joe Johnson               
Peter Ebdon               5-0 David McLellan (Scotland) 
Mark J Williams (Wales)   5-3 Andy Hicks                
Dene O'Kane (New Zealand) 5-2 James Wattana (Thailand)  
Ronnie O'Sullivan         5-3 Stuart Pettman            
Nigel Bond                5-2 David Roe                 
Jimmy White               5-1 Dave Finbow               
Chris Small (Scotland)    5-3 Steve Davis               
Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 5-3 Gary Wilkinson

First round

John Higgins (Scotland)   5-4 Graeme Dott (Scotland)
Dennis Taylor (N.Ireland) 5-4 Paul McPhillips (Scotland)
Bradley Jones             5-4 Alain Robidoux (Canada)
Paul Wykes                5-2 Rod Lawler
Stuart Parnell            5-2 Darren Morgan (Wales)
Adrian Rosa               5-3 Jason Ferguson
Alan McManus (Scotland)   5-3 Matt Wilson
Stephen Lee               5-2 Nick Walker
Ken Doherty (Ireland)     5-0 Mark Rowing
Joe Swail (N.Ireland)     5-1 Mehmet Husnu (Cyprus)
Tony Drago (Malta)        5-1 Jason Prince (N.Ireland)
Shokat Ali (Pakistan)     5-2 Willie Thorne
Dave Harold               5-3 Brian Morgan
Steve James               5-3 Jamie Woodman
John Parrott              5-2 Jamie Burnett (Scotland)
Joe Johnson               5-1 Martin Clark
Peter Ebdon               5-2 Mark Johnston-Allen
David McLellan (Scotland) 5-1 Mick Price
Mark J Williams (Wales)   5-2 Tony Chappel (Wales)
Andy Hicks                5-2 Alan Burnett (Scotland)
James Wattana (Thailand)  5-1 Terry Murphy (N.Ireland)
Dene O'Kane (New Zealand) 5-0 Jon Birch
Ronnie O'Sullivan         5-1 Mark Fenton (Wales)
Stuart Pettman            5-1 Neal Foulds
Nigel Bond                5-3 Wayne Brown
David Roe                 5-2 Anthony Hamilton
Jimmy White               5-1 Michael Judge (Ireland)
Dave Finbow               5-3 Leigh Griffin
Steve Davis               5-1 Oliver King
Chris Small (Scotland)    5-4 Billy Snaddon (Scotland)
Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 5-4 Euan Henderson (Scotland)
Gary Wilkinson            5-1 James Weston

Final qualifying round*

Norbreck Castle Hotel, Blackpool, England (Jan 16, 1997)

Graeme Dott (Scotland)     5-0 Quinten Hann (Australia)
Paul McPhillips (Scotland) 5-4 Chris Scanlon
Bradley Jones              5-1 Nick Terry
Paul Wykes                 5-3 Mark Davis
Stuart Parnell             5-4 Mark Bennett (Wales)
Adrian Rosa                5-2 Dean Reynolds
Matt Wilson                5-2 Anthony Davies (Wales)
Nick Walker                5-0 Karl Broughton
Mark Rowing                5-2 Mike Hallett
Mehmet Husnu (Cyprus)      5-3 Tony Jones
Jason Prince (N.Ireland)   5-3 P Williams (Wales)
Shokat Ali (Pakistan)      5-4 Wayne Jones (Wales)
Brian Morgan               5-1 Dominic Dale (Wales)
Jamie Woodman              5-3 Fergal O'Brien (Ireland)
Jamie Burnett (Scotland)   5-2 Stephen O'Connor (Ireland)
Joe Johnson                5-3 A Carter
David McLellan (Scotland)  5-0 Doug Mountjoy (Wales)
Mark Johnston-Allen        5-4 Nigel Gilbert
Tony Chappel (Wales)       5-4 Yasin Merchant (India)
Alan Burnett (Scotland)    5-4 Drew Henry (Scotland)
Terry Murphy (N.Ireland)   5-3 Robert Milkins
Jon Birch                  5-3 John Lardner (Scotland)
Mark Fenton (Wales)        5-3 Mark King
Stuart Pettman             5-2 Tony Knowles
Wayne Brown                5-2 Stephen Murphy (Ireland)
David Roe                  5-2 Gerard Greene (N.Ireland)
Michael Judge (Ireland)    5-3 Paul Davies (Wales)
Leigh Griffin              5-4 Mark Flowerdew
Ollie King                 5-0 Karl Payne

* Three matches missing (Small, Henderson and Weston the winners)

David McLellan, of Glasgow, was responsible for the fastest best-of-nine-frame victory in a world ranking tournament when he required only 34min 19sec to defeat Doug Mountjoy 5-0. McLellan, the world No 107, totally dominated and allowed Mountjoy to aggregate only 31 points.

Related Pages

1995 Sweater Shop International Open
1996 Sweater Shop International Open
Scottiah Open Finals

[ Report | Pictures | Results | Related Pages ]

Previous Welsh Last Modified: Saturday April 21 2012 European Next