Tournaments: 1996/97: Ranking: Asian | Grand Prix | UK | German | Welsh | International | European | Thailand | British | World

Regal Welsh 1997

Newport Leisure Centre, Newport, Wales (Jan 24 - Feb 1, 1997)
Ranking tournament (No.5 of 10)

[ Report | Results | Related Pages ]


Stephen Hendry won his second Welsh title, his second ranking tournament of the season and his second tournament of the year by beating Romford's Mark King 9-2 in a one-sided final. It was his 27th ranking and 62nd major title. The victory landed him a check of �37,500. He also won the high break prize with his 140 total clearance in the final. That was only one of his three centuries in the match. Can anyone beat him in the World Championships, I wonder?

Mark King received �22,500, the biggest paycheck of his career, after reaching his first ever major final. It is especially nice for that Mark performs so well, as his manager, Richard Fountain, is involved in in several ways. He is the author of both The Fountain and How to Play Snooker. Nice going, Mark!


(Players are English unless stated)


Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 9-2 Mark King

140-0 (140), 101-5 (101), 29-75, 113-0 (95), 72-50,
110-1 (106), 67-2, 16-96 (58), 91-26, 71-20, 90-1 (52)


Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 6-2 John Parrott
Mark King                 6-5 Mark J Williams (Wales)


Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 5-3 Terry Murphy (N.Ireland)
John Parrott              5-1 John Higgins (Scotland)
Mark J Williams (Wales)   5-3 Paul Davies (Wales)
Mark King                 5-2 Fergal O'Brien (Ireland)

Third round

Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 5-4 James Wattana (Thailand)
Terry Murphy (N.Ireland)  5-0 Nigel Bond  
John Parrott              5-4 Dene O'Kane (New Zealand)
John Higgins (Scotland)   5-2 Alain Robidoux (Canada)
Mark J Williams (Wales)   5-4 Tony Drago (Malta)
Paul Davies (Wales)       5-4 Ken Doherty (Ireland)
Mark King                 5-1 Tony Chappel (Wales)
Fergal O'Brien (Ireland)  5-1 Jason Prince (N.Ireland)

Second round

Stephen Hendry (Scotland) 5-2 Mick Price
James Wattana (Thailand)  5-3 Dennis Taylor (N.Ireland)
Terry Murphy (N.Ireland)  5-4 Ronnie O'Sullivan 
Nigel Bond                5-1 Steve James
John Parrott              5-2 Jamie Burnett (Scotland)
Dene O'Kane (New Zealand) 5-1 Dylan Leary
John Higgins (Scotland)   5-3 Nick Walker
Alain Robidoux (Canada)   5-2 Shokat Ali (Pakistan)
Mark J Williams (Wales)   5-1 Willie Thorne
Tony Drago (Malta)        5-1 Noppadon Noppachorn (Thailand)
Paul Davies (Wales)       5-3 Chris Small (Scotland)
Ken Doherty (Ireland)     5-0 Joe Swail (N.Ireland)
Mark King                 5-4 Michael Judge (Ireland)
Tony Chappel (Wales)      5-3 Lee Richardson
Fergal O'Brien (Ireland)  5-4 Peter Ebdon
Jason Prince (N.Ireland)  5-3 Dean Reynolds

First round

Stephen Hendry (Scotland)      5-2 Ian McCulloch
Mick Price                     5-4 Mark Johnston-Allen
James Wattana (Thailand)       5-1 Steve Newbury (Wales)
Dennis Taylor (N.Ireland)      5-2 Mark Bennett (Wales)
Terry Murphy (N.Ireland)       5-3 Stephen Lee
Ronnie O'Sullivan              5-2 Barry Pinches
Nigel Bond                     5-4 Darren Clarke
Steve James                    5-1 Doug Mountjoy (Wales)
John Parrott                   5-3 Peter Lines
Jamie Burnett (Scotland)       5-2 Neal Foulds
Dene O'Kane (New Zealand)      5-4 Chris Scanlon
Dylan Leary                    5-3 Jimmy White 
John Higgins (Scotland)        5-3 Graeme Dott (Scotland)
Nick Walker                    5-4 Anthony Hamilton
Alain Robidoux (Canada)        5-4 Billy Snaddon
Shokat Ali (Pakistan)          5-3 Jason Ferguson
Mark J Williams (Wales)        5-2 Dominic Dale (Wales)
Willie Thorne                  5-4 Darryn Walker
Tony Drago (Malta)             5-2 Drew Henry (Scotland)
Noppadon Noppachorn (Thailand) 5-2 Dave Finbow
Paul Davies (Wales)            5-2 Dave Harold 
Chris Small (Scotland)         5-3 Joe Johnson
Ken Doherty (Ireland)          5-3 Paul Wykes
Joe Swail (N.Ireland)          5-0 Euan Henderson (Scotland)
Mark King                      5-4 Steve Davis 
Michael Judge (Ireland)        5-4 Andy Hicks
Tony Chappel (Wales)           5-3 Alan McManus (Scotland)
Lee Richardson                 5-4 Rod Lawler
Fergal O'Brien (Ireland)       5-4 Martin Clark
Peter Ebdon                    5-0 Nick Terry
Jason Prince (N.Ireland)       5-4 Gary Wilkinson
Dean Reynolds                  5-3 Darren Morgan (Wales)

Related Pages

1995 Regal Welsh Open
1996 Regal Welsh Open
Regal Welsh Open Finals

[ Report | Results | Related Pages ]

Previous German Last Modified: Saturday April 21 2012 International Next